THE six candidates who will contest a by-election called in Besses ward in Whitefield have been declared. They are:

- Glyn Harvey Heath (Green Party)

- Jordan Lewis (Conservative Party)

- Gareth Lloyd Johnson (Liberal Democrats)

- Stephen Morris (English Democrats)

- Lucy Smith (Labour)

-Michael Zwierzanski (UK Independence Party)

The election, which will be held on July 19, was prompted by the resignation of Councillor Elizabeth FitzGerald — who had represented the ward since 2012.

The deadline to register to vote is July 3. You can also to apply for a postal vote until July 4 by emailing or calling 0161 253 5252.