THE DATE was August 1, 1908, when this beautifully hand-coloured postcard of Prestwich Clough was franked at Prestwich Post Office.
The shot captures the rustic bridge spanning the stream in the Clough.
On the left stands the tower of St Mary’s Parish Church, which dominates the scene as it has done for the last 500 years. At the time the Clough was described as ‘sylvan and beautiful’ and the
walks in it ‘very pleasant’.
Visitors were accommodated with teas at a cottage in the middle of the valley.
In 1906, William Gardner gave nine acres of the Clough to Prestwich Urban District Council.
The council bought a further 13 acres for £2,000 at roughly the same time.
Benjamin Carver performed the opening ceremony.
In 2006, the centenary of the Clough was celebrated when brass bands and morris men entertained at the first ever Prestwich Clough Day.
The day takes place each May in St Mary’s Flower Park and at the nearby Church Inn pub. It is a free community event which showcases what the area has to offer for local people.
At this year's event, visitors could peruse more than 50 stalls and exhibits including a falconry display, a New Orleans-style jazz band, a Punch and Judy show and circus skills.
The next one is set to take place on May 16 next year.